Sue Grafton

Kinsey & Me

by Sue Grafton

A Marian Wood Book/Putnam

"Every two years, fans of Sue Grafton's Alphabet mystery series are over the moon… But right now, Grafton is giving her fans something terrific while they wait... The Kinsey stories and the Kit stories together open a window into Grafton's soul. The Kinsey stories spotlight the short story as art form. The Kit Blue stories are completely different... Grafton deserves thanks for bringing back the Kinsey stories. She's to be applauded for the compelling Kit stories and for what one can't but think is bravery for sharing them."USA Today

In 1982, Sue Grafton introduced us to Kinsey Millhone. Thirty years later, Kinsey is an established international icon and Sue, a number-one bestselling author. To mark this anniversary year, Sue has given us stories that reveal Kinsey's origins and Sue's past.

"I've come to believe that Grafton is not only the most talented woman writing crime fiction today but also that, regardless of gender, her Millhone books are among the five or six best series any American has ever written."
—Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post

Kinsey and Me has two parts: The nine Kinsey stories (1986-93), each a gem of detection; and the And Me stories, written in the decade after Grafton's mother died. Together, they show just how much of Kinsey is a distillation of her creator's past even as they reveal a child who, free of parental interventions, read everything and roamed everywhere. But the dark side of such freedom was that very parental distance.

The same unique voice and witty insights readers fell in love with in A Is for Alibi permeate the Kinsey stories. Those in the And Me section trace a remarkable voyage, from anger to understanding, from pain to forgiveness. They take us into a troubled family, dysfunctional as most families are, each in their own way, but Grafton's telling is sensitive, delicate, and ultimately, loving. Enriching the way we see Kinsey and know Sue, these stories are deeply affecting.

Order a copy:

Order an autographed copy from The Poisoned Pen
Fans can order a whole set A-V for $650. Email
Individual titles are found by clicking hereand ordering via the website.

Also available in Penguin Audio edition

hardcover | $27.95 | Marian Wood Books/Putnam | 2013
ISBN10: 0399163832 | ISBN13: 9780399163838